Dresses · Quilting Cotton

Polar Pals Dress

il_680x540-1062521081_cqikI have a love for fabric with ‘odd’ prints. The brighter and weirder the better. When it comes to bright or quirky animals, I really can’t resist.

This quilting cotton has been in my stash for a while and is a gorgeous Robert Kaufmann print from the Polar Pals collection. It’s a perfect true red and the foxes are wearing ski hats, scarves and wooly jumpers!

I chose the pattern for this dress from Gertie’s Ultimate Dress book. Her book patterns always fit me really well with hardly any adjustment and have been my go to for a lot of my projects lately. The only alteration I tend to make is a full bust adjustment (FBA), but this is something I need to do on almost all patterns.

1-front

This dress uses her boat neck bodice with a self drafted pleated skirt. I cut a size 8 and made an FBA to the front bodice piece.

back-2

Like most (all?) quilting cottons, this fabric was 44″ wide. I wanted a fuller skirt so sewed two pieces together to make it closer to 60″ wide. I sewed a total of 6 darts along the width then pleated the fabric to fit the front bodice section. The darts are hidden underneath the pleats.

I did the same for the two back skirt pieces. This makes a lovely full skirt but without any bulk at the waist. Plus who doesn’t love a good pleat! I find a pleated skirt a lot more flattering on me than a gathered skirt, especially with quilting cotton.

close-up

The back zipper is lapped and hand stitched with a perfectly finished lining at the top of the zipper. I’m in the process of writing a tutorial for this as I couldn’t find one anywhere but it makes such a neat finish.

Leave a Reply

